Yoga is the sanskrit term for “union” and “discipline.” It is said to be the union of breath, mind, and the senses. Yoga originated in India over 5,000 years ago. Patanjali states that the practice “becomes firmly grounded when cultivated properly and for a long period of time uninterruptedly.” This is why it is called a practice. We must practice and continue this journey throughout this lifetime. My teaching continues to grow and transform, as well as my personal yoga practice. I hope to inspire you to develop and find a love for this ancient practice and carry it throughout your life.

According to Patanjali there are 8 limbs of yoga:

  • Yamas and Niyamas (personal ethical standards and self-discipline)
  • Asana (the physical postures of yoga)
  • Pranayama (breathwork)
  • Pratyahara (withdrawing from the senses or directing our attention internally)
  • Dharana (concentration)
  • Dhyana (meditation or contemplation)
  • Samadhi (a state of ecstasy or more importantly recognizing a profound connection to the divine and realizing an interconnectedness with all living things.)